See Rodney Atkins perform live at the 2024 Hardin County Fair! Get Tickets

Fair board reorganizes for 2024

Acting President Brad Murphy, brought the Hardin County Agricultural Society Reorganizational Meeting to order, with twenty five members present.

Brad Murphy read the election results for directors.  There were 51 members who cast votes for 8 positions.  Charlie McCullough and Grant Mizek will hold Director at Large positions until 2026.  Rob Wilson, Jack McBride, Dan Beale and Craig Decker will keep their Township Director positions until 2026.  Jackson Township has a new director until 2025, with Curt Vanderpool securing that position.  Tyler Overly was elected to the Buck Twp. Position, which will expire in 2025.  There are 2 Townships with vacancies, those being Lynn Township and Taylor Creek Township. Newly elected Directors were then sworn into office by Judi Cronley, Notarizer. 

Corey Ledley and Charlie McCullough moved to keep Brad Murphy as President.  Brad Murphy and Austin Eibling moved to nominate Jake McFadden as Vice President.    Nominations were closed by Jack McBride and Andrew Scharf.  Motion passed unanimously.

Officers and Directors for 2024 are:  Brad Murphy, President and representation for Dudley Twp. Director; Jake McFadden, Vice President and Director At Large; Judi Cronley, Secretary/Treasurer; Dan Beale, Director representing McDonald Twp.; Craig Decker, Director representing Marion Twp.; Austin Eibling, Director at large; Steve Harpster, Director representing Roundhead Twp.; Corey Ledley, Director at large; Charlie McCullough, Director at Large; Jack McBride, Director representing Cessna Twp.; Grant Mizek, Director at Large; Zach Rambo, Director at Large; Christa Rarey, Director representing Pleasant Twp.; Andrew Scharf, Director at Large; Nathan Weaver, Director representing Goshen Twp.; Meghan Yoakum, Director representing Liberty Twp.; Rob Wilson, Director representing Blanchard Twp.;  Tyler Overly, Director representing Buck Twp.; Craig Stump, Director representing Washington Twp., and Curt Vanderpool, Director representing Jackson Twp.

It was noted anyone interested in being a director, for an appointed one-year term, are encouraged to write a letter to the Hardin County Ag. Society.  Any person can be appointed to an open position, regardless of the township they live in. 

Charlie McCullough and Dan Beale moved to keep regular meeting dates to the first Wednesday of each month at 7pm. There are three board meeting dates with adjustments.  The January Board Meeting will meet January 10th, 2024 (a week later d/t the 1st week of January being the OFMA convention), the July Board Meeting will meet the week after July 4th on July 10th and the September Board meeting will meet one week before the fair on August 28th.   Motion passed unanimously.

Next year’s reorganizational meeting will follow the Agricultural Society’s Annual Meeting on Saturday, Nov. 2nd, 2024.Charlie McCullough and Jake McFadden moved to adjourn the meeting.  Motion carried.